Chris Reinecke. Time and Work. Moments – Works from 1965 to 2016

Beck & Eggeling is pleased to present the work of Düsseldorf based artist Chris Reinecke in a comprehensive, retrospectively structured solo exhibition on the occasion of the artist‘s 80th birthday.

The show, with a focus on the most recent artistic production, brings together paper collages, objects, drawings and documentary relics of performances from five decades as well as paintings from the 1970ies and early 1980ies. So far rarely seen, these examples in painting represent an astounding “missing link” in matters of the reception of Reinecke‘s oeuvre: in the context of the recent large-scale and expansive paper collages, it particularly becomes apparent how powerful the concurrence of conceptual and painterly aspects is. As the artist matches and interlaces multiple image parts, mostly taken from different contexts and times of origin, temporality and processuality visualise within the works.

Furthermore a fascinating continuity of her interest in subjects, which determine her work as central themes, begins to show: non-hierarchical, democratic, anti-authoritarian – in it‘s chronological progress from 1967 on, Chris Reinecke‘s transgressive work, that aims at raising awareness and expanding the social conciousness, at undermining the traditional behavioural roles of males and females, and – at times – even at radical politcal changes, is embedded in the student movement. At the Kunstakademie in Düsseldorf, in the procuctive tension between two most opposite poles (Gerhard Hoehme and Karl Otto Götz on one side – Joseph Beuys on the other), she soon developes a very automonous approach to art. From 1968 until 1970 she, together with JörgImmendorff and other members...

The show, with a focus on the most recent artistic production, brings together paper collages, objects, drawings and documentary relics of performances from five decades as well as paintings from the 1970ies and early 1980ies. So far rarely seen, these examples in painting represent an astounding “missing link” in matters of the reception of Reinecke‘s oeuvre: in the context of the recent large-scale and expansive paper collages, it particularly becomes apparent how powerful the concurrence of conceptual and painterly aspects is. As the artist matches and interlaces multiple image parts, mostly taken from different contexts and times of origin, temporality and processuality visualise within the works.

Furthermore a fascinating continuity of her interest in subjects, which determine her work as central themes, begins to show: non-hierarchical, democratic, anti-authoritarian – in it‘s chronological progress from 1967 on, Chris Reinecke‘s transgressive work, that aims at raising awareness and expanding the social conciousness, at undermining the traditional behavioural roles of males and females, and – at times – even at radical politcal changes, is embedded in the student movement. At the Kunstakademie in Düsseldorf, in the procuctive tension between two most opposite poles (Gerhard Hoehme and Karl Otto Götz on one side – Joseph Beuys on the other), she soon developes a very automonous approach to art. From 1968 until 1970 she, together with Jörg Immendorff and other members of the Lidl-group, works on alternate models for learning, teaching and working in society.

Until today, the precise and in the same way exploratory observance – of the social and political space she is surrounded by, as well as processes in natrual and cultural sciences – sets the focus of her artistic work. Reinecke‘s texts inspiringly contrast the sensitive feel of her objects, which for the most part are made from ephemeral materials, and in which the variable, flexible, processual uncovers as a possibility of movement within society. The likewise sensual and conceptual ouevre opens a wide scope of interpretation to the beholder, while it is always meant to be a proposal, too: for an action, a motion, an effort of one‘s own.

Publications

Chris Reinecke. Zeit und Arbeit. Momente.

Chris Reinecke. Zeit und Arbeit. Momente.

  • Artist: Chris Reinecke
    Editor: Susanne Rennert
    Text: Susanne Rennert
    Design: Beck & Eggeling (Antonia Eggeling)
  • English, German
    Hardcover, 28,5 x 24 cm
    128 pages, 68 illustrations
  • Beck & Eggeling Kunstverlag, 2016
    ISBN 978-3-94606304-9
  • 28,00 €
Order More

BECK & EGGELING INTERNATIONAL FIANE ART · DÜSSELDORF · VIENNA — INFO@BECK-EGGELING.DE · WWW.BECK-EGGELING.DE

BILKER STR. 5 & 4 – 6 · D - 40213 DÜSSELDORF · T +49 211 4915890 — MARGARETENSTRASSE 5 /19 · A -1040 WIEN · T +43 1 581 1956

Chris Reinecke. Zeit und Arbeit. Momente – Werke von 1965 bis 2016

Beck & Eggeling freut sich, das Werk der Düsseldorfer Künstlerin Chris Reinecke anlässlich ihres 80. Geburtstages in einer umfangreichen, retrospektiv angelegten Einzelausstellung zu präsentieren. Die Galerie zeigt Papiercollagen, Objekte, Zeichnungen, Aktionsrelikte und Bilder von 1965 bis heute.

Die Werkschau mit einem Fokus auf der aktuellen Produktion versammelt neben Papiercollagen, Objekten, Zeichnungen und Aktionsrelikten aus fünf Jahrzehnten auch Bilder der 1970er und frühen 1980er Jahre. Diese – bislang kaum bekannten – Beispiele für Malerei stellen in Bezug auf die Betrachtung von Reineckes Gesamtwerk einen verblüffenden „missing link“ dar: Gerade vor dem Hintergrund der aktuellen, großformatigen, raumgreifenden Papiercollagen wird anschaulich, wie stark hier konzeptuelle und malerische Aspekte zusammenwirken. Indem die Künstlerin mehrere, meist aus verschiedenen Entstehungszeiten und Kontexten stammende, Bildteile übereinanderlegt und miteinander verschränkt, kommen Zeitlichkeit und Prozesshaftigkeit ins Bild.

Deutlich wird zudem eine faszinierende Kontinuität ihres Interesses an Themen, die sich wie rote Fäden durch das Werk ziehen: Nicht hierarchisch, demokratisch, anti-autoritär – Chris Reineckes grenzüberschreitende, auf Sensibilisierung und Erweiterung gesellschaftlichen Bewusstseins, auf Unterminierung tradierten weiblichen und männlichen Rollenverhaltens, zeitweise auf radikale politische Veränderung abzielende Arbeit ist in ihrer chronologischen Entwicklung ab 1967 eingebettet in die Studentenbewegung. An der Düsseldorfer Kunstakademie entwickelte sie früh ihren eigenständigen Ansatz im produktiven Spannungsfeld extrem gegensätzlicher Pole (Gerhard Hoehme, Karl Otto Götz – Joseph Beuys). Von 1968 bis 1970 arbeitetesie gemeinsam mit Jörg Immendor...

Die Werkschau mit einem Fokus auf der aktuellen Produktion versammelt neben Papiercollagen, Objekten, Zeichnungen und Aktionsrelikten aus fünf Jahrzehnten auch Bilder der 1970er und frühen 1980er Jahre. Diese – bislang kaum bekannten – Beispiele für Malerei stellen in Bezug auf die Betrachtung von Reineckes Gesamtwerk einen verblüffenden „missing link“ dar: Gerade vor dem Hintergrund der aktuellen, großformatigen, raumgreifenden Papiercollagen wird anschaulich, wie stark hier konzeptuelle und malerische Aspekte zusammenwirken. Indem die Künstlerin mehrere, meist aus verschiedenen Entstehungszeiten und Kontexten stammende, Bildteile übereinanderlegt und miteinander verschränkt, kommen Zeitlichkeit und Prozesshaftigkeit ins Bild.

Deutlich wird zudem eine faszinierende Kontinuität ihres Interesses an Themen, die sich wie rote Fäden durch das Werk ziehen: Nicht hierarchisch, demokratisch, anti-autoritär – Chris Reineckes grenzüberschreitende, auf Sensibilisierung und Erweiterung gesellschaftlichen Bewusstseins, auf Unterminierung tradierten weiblichen und männlichen Rollenverhaltens, zeitweise auf radikale politische Veränderung abzielende Arbeit ist in ihrer chronologischen Entwicklung ab 1967 eingebettet in die Studentenbewegung. An der Düsseldorfer Kunstakademie entwickelte sie früh ihren eigenständigen Ansatz im produktiven Spannungsfeld extrem gegensätzlicher Pole (Gerhard Hoehme, Karl Otto Götz – Joseph Beuys). Von 1968 bis 1970 arbeitete sie gemeinsam mit Jörg Immendorff und anderen Mitgliedern der Lidl-Gruppe an alternativen Modellen für Lernen, Lehren und Arbeit in der Gesellschaft.

Bis heute steht die präzise, gleichsam forscherische Beobachtung – des sie umgebenden gesellschaftlichen und politischen Raums, sowie natur- und kulturwissenschaftlicher Prozesse – im Zentrum ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit. Reineckes Texte stehen in anregendem Kontrast zur sensiblen Haptik der meist aus ephemeren Materialien produzierten Objekte, die das Veränderliche, Flexible, Prozesshafte als Möglichkeiten von Bewegung in der Gesellschaft sichtbar machen. Das gleichermaßen sinnliche wie konzeptuelle Werk lässt dem Betrachter viel Spielraum, bedeutet immer auch ein Angebot: für eigene Bewegung, Handlung und Aktion.

Publikationen

Chris Reinecke. Zeit und Arbeit. Momente.

Chris Reinecke. Zeit und Arbeit. Momente.

  • Künstlerin: Chris Reinecke
    Herausgeber: Susanne Rennert
    Text: Susanne Rennert
    Design: Beck & Eggeling (Antonia Eggeling)
  • Englisch, Deutsch
    Hardcover, 28,5 x 24 cm
    128 Seiten, 68 Abbildungen
  • Beck & Eggeling Kunstverlag, 2016
    ISBN 978-3-94606304-9
  • 28,00 €
Bestellen Mehr

BECK & EGGELING INTERNATIONAL FIANE ART · DÜSSELDORF · VIENNA — INFO@BECK-EGGELING.DE · WWW.BECK-EGGELING.DE

BILKER STR. 5 & 4 – 6 · D - 40213 DÜSSELDORF · T +49 211 4915890 — MARGARETENSTRASSE 5 /19 · A -1040 WIEN · T +43 1 581 1956